The Commission brings together recognized leaders with a breadth of experience and accomplishment across many diverse fields. They have an exceptional and timely opportunity to leverage their collective insights in shaping U.S. global health efforts by defining goals and priorities for the next decade and beyond, articulating guiding principles for U.S. action, and identifying the architectural elements essential to a long-term implementation strategy.

Commission Co-Chairs

William J. Fallon

(Co-Chair), Admiral, U.S. Navy (Retired)

Helene D. Gayle

(Co-Chair), President & CEO, CARE


Rhona S. Applebaum

Vice President and Chief Scientific and Regulatory Officer, The Coca-Cola Company

Christopher J. Elias

President & CEO, PATH

William J. Fallon

(Co-Chair), Admiral, U.S. Navy (Retired)

William H. Frist

Former U.S. Senate Majority Leader

Helene D. Gayle

(Co-Chair), President & CEO, CARE

John J. Hamre

President & CEO, CSIS; Former U.S. Deputy Secretary of Defense

Peter Lamptey

President, Public Health Programs, Family Health International

Margaret G. McGlynn

Former President for Global Vaccines & Infectious Diseases, Merck & Co.

Michael Merson

Director of the Global Health Institute, Duke University

Patricia E. Mitchell

President & CEO, The Paley Center for Media

Surya N. Mohapatra

President & CEO, Quest Diagnostics, Inc.

Thomas R. Pickering

Vice Chairman, Hills & Company

Peter Piot

Director, Institute for Global Health Imperial College London; Former Director of UNAIDS

Karen Remley

Commissioner, Virginia Department of Health

Judith Rodin

President, The Rockefeller Foundation

Joe Rospars

Founding Partner, Blue State Digital

Robert E. Rubin

Co-Chairman, Council on Foreign Relations; Former U.S. Secretary of the Treasury

Donna E. Shalala

President, University of Miami

Debora L. Spar

President, Barnard College

Rex Tillerson

Chairman & CEO, Exxon Mobil Corporation

Rajeev Venkayya

Director of Global Health Delivery, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation